Boards and Staff

OAME Board of Directors

Sam Brooks

Sam Brooks, Founder & Chair Emeritus

President of S. Brooks & Associates (retired)

Herb Yamamoto, Chair of the Board

CEO, BIM Connection LLC
Herb is a graduate of the University of California, Berkeley (Mechanical Engineering, M.S.), and is passionate about entrepreneurship and socio-economic initiatives. His firm provides Building Information Modeling (BIM) services for the AEC community. Most of all, he values his faith in Christ and his family.

Herb Yamamoto
Fred Carter

Fred Carter, Secretary & Treasurer

Fred Carter, CPA

Summer Fowler, Vice Chair of Board, Owner/President, Well Faculty, LEED AP+ BD&C, Assoc. AIA

ecoREAL (D/E/WBE #6977): Green Building consulting company founded by Summer Fowler in 2009 with a mission to provide sustainability with equity in the built environment. Summer has over 20 years of experience in the Green Building industry starting in a global architecture firm. Her team provides services for reaching LEED, Living Building, Path to Net Zero Energy to Zero Carbon, and Well Building goals with cost-effective tools and training, including proprietary Green Canary healthy material tracking software to optimize sustainability and equity goals.

Summer Gorder Fowler
Diana Delgado, Electrical Engineer

Diana Delgado, CE Engineers, Co-Owner, Electrical Engineer

CE Engineers, Inc. (D/E/MBE OR #5618): Founded in 2006, CE Engineers, is a father-daughter-owned electrical engineering firm. Diana has been with the company since 2010 and her team focuses on electrical power distribution design, instrumentation and controls engineering, and arc flash studies. 

Ed Wilson

President, Ampere Electric

Ed Wilson

Dimas Diaz, MAXXIMO Investments, LLC, President

Dimas graduated from the University of Oregon with a Master’s in Urban and Regional Planning and is passionate about investing, entrepreneurship, and collecting art from the underrepresented artist in our community.

OAME Advisory Board

  • Carrie Baxandall, Chair– Program Manager, Business Oregon- COBID
  • Kate Sinner — Innovation & Entrepreneurship Manager, Business Oregon
  • Biko Taylor — Chief Procurement Officer, City of Portland
  • Scott Bossom — Sr. VP and SBA Manager, Columbia Bank
  • Kelly Stevens-Malnar — Cooperative Purchasing Coordinator, DAS Procurement
  • Mel Jones — Inclusion Specialist, Hoffman Construction
  • Peter Garcia — Procurement Coordinator, Home Forward
  • Ryan McGrew — Oregon Vice President, Howard S. Wright
  • Shelly Richards — V.P. Client Account Manager, Jacobs
  • Martell Dyles — Senior Manager of Diversity and Inclusion Western Region, JE Dunn
  • Gabriele Schuster — Senior Procurement Analyst MWESB, Metro
  • Lindsay Verdugo — Senior Community Affairs Specialist, Mortenson
  • Brian Smith — Purchasing Manager, Multnomah County
  • Clayton Judge — Director of Global Supplier Development, Nike
  • Angela Crain — Office of Civil Rights Field and Business Support, ODOT
  • Eloisa Miller — Director Corporate Division, Oregon Secretary of State Office
  • N/A — Economic and Business Equity Manager, Oregon Governor’s Office
  • Dana Hill Supplier Diversity Program Director, Oregon Health Sciences University
  • Bob Gravely — Regional Business Manager, Pacific Power
  • Sheila Muckridge — Marketing Division Manager, Parametrix
  • Tammy Marquez-Oldham — Director, PCC-S.B. Development Center
  • Steven Nakana — Community Outreach Manager, PGE
  • Irene Appel — Small Business Technical Assistant Specialist, Port of Portland
  • Avtar Sunnivagora — Certified Business Program Manager, Portland Public Schools
  • Karen Thomson — Director, Contracting and Procurement Services, Portland State University
  • Michelle Jalali — Director of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, Portland Trail Blazers
  • Christy Witzke — Vice President of Marketing, Sales, and Communications, SAIF
  • Tim Johnson/Lee Fleming — Executive Vice President and General Manager, Skanska
  • Martin Golden — District Director, SBA
  • John Gardner — Director, Transit Equity, Inclusion, and Community Affairs, TriMet
  • Eddie Laberge — Business Development Engineer, Turner Construction
  • Steve Backstrom — VP, District Manager North Portland, U.S. Bank
  • Afton Walsh — Project Manager/Outreach Coordinator, Walsh Construction
  • Richard Yuvienco — Vice President Portland Commercial Banking , Wells Fargo
  • Kaitlyn Sullivan — Sr. Marketing Manager Oregon & SW Washington, WSP
  • Aidan Groenauer, — Civil Rights Manager, WSDOT

OAME Staff

Founder and Chairman of the Board

Sam Brooks

Mr. Sam Brooks


Jorge Guerra

Jorge Guerra,

Director of Business Development, Events & Youth Programs

Bill Prows

Bill Prows,

Director of Access to Capital

Tei-Onna Haggard,

Office Manager/ Membership Services & Marketing Rep.

Cheryl Nelson,